Improvisational Cuisine

Improvisational Cuisine:  A manner of dining in which a guest provides just enough about their personal preference for the chef to provide a modern and seasonal tasting menu

I have never considered myself a picky eater, but I do have my limits.  Most of my likes centre around vegetables and ice cream (when I’m not on a diet).  After some thoughtful consideration, and a nudge by my son, I decided to try improvisational dining as my first experience.  With the family in tow we booked our reservation at Posh, in Scottsdale.

For foodies, this is a fun experience.  For diners, like myself, a monumental adventure.

Diana, our exceptional waitress, explained the concept behind the restaurant, and asked us to fill out detailed cards which tells the chef and his staff what you like, dislike and will not think of eating.  Are you a vegan, maybe a pescetarian or despise cilantro? Do you like your meal walking off the plate or well done?  Are you willing to try kangaroo, quail, frog legs or wild boar (just to name a few of the items from previous menus)?  Collectively we decided to indulge in the five course meal.

IMG_3653            IMG_3680

The improvisational part allows the chef and his team to prepare a tasting menu which avoids individual dislikes or food allergies.  The menu at Posh changes daily, depending on what is available and, of course, what is seasonal.

I chose to plow ahead.  I didn’t mark anything on my card and was willing to give it all a try . . . whatever came my way.  Most of the family did the same, and we were pleasantly surprised to be served different items, during each course, so that we could share with one another.  That was a big part of the fun, along with Diana, who explained everything that each of us was served.  Now, to be fair, I think Diana knew that this was to be a real experience for me, and I assume that I was given some of the more sophisticated dishes, including sea urchin or uni, goat and sweetbreads (and this is not “sweet bread”, as another diner found out, but the thymus gland of a calf).

Do I like blue cheese anymore today than I did before my improvisational dining experience?  Absolutely not. Will I ever try sweetbreads again. No. Do I prefer choosing the dishes that I want to eat, sure, but this was a wonderful opportunity to step outside my comfort zone and share my first experience with people I love, and whom had a few giggles on my behalf!

Posh Scottsdale, January 8th Menu

Zucchini & Eggplant Soup | Shishito Relish

Seafood Chowder | Shrimp Oil | Herbs de Province | Crab Cake

Tat Soi & Rye Berry Salad | Strawberry Vinaigrette | Parmesan | Strawberries | Toasted Pumpkin Seeds | Pumpkin Seed Oil

Carrots Smoked Oil Poached | Arugula | Caraway Seed Yogurt | Goat Cheese | Carrot Purée | Red Wine Vinaigrette

Bread Course | Fennel Dill Roll | Cardamom Orange Butter

Mussels | Panisse Cake | Shishito Peppers | Shrimp Tomato Glaze | Lemongrass | Herbs

Uni | Wasabi Biscuits | Buttered Leeks | Uni Gravy | Pickled Ginger | Crispy Leeks

Soft Shell Crab | Roasted Sunchokes | Bok Choy | Kimchee Aioli

Bedford Snapper | Braised Cabbage | Blistered Grapes | Whole Grain Mustard Verjus

Scallop | Corn Arancini | White Asparagus | Mole

Mt Lassen Trout Dill Crusted | Brussels Sprouts | Zucchini Balls | Curried Apple Broth

Smoked Sturgeon Croquette | Asparagus Puree | Cilantro Pesto | Gremolata

Goose Breast | Sweet Potato Fritter | Dashi Soy Broth | Bean Sprouts | Pickled Mustard Seeds

Lamb Sumac Crusted Loin | Roasted Cauliflower | Gnocchi | Rosemary Demi Glace

Sweetbreads Cocoa Crusted Veal | Sour Apple and Blue Cheese Salad | Lavender Carrot Sauce

New York Strip | Wheat Berry Porridge | Pickled Salad | Salted Plum Demi Glace

Duck Confit Crepinette | Roasted Salsify | Salsify Purée | Bell Pepper Coulis | Orange Gastrique

Goat Slow Roasted | Buckwheat Crepes | Black-eyed Pea Ragout | Red Sauce

Trifle | Popcorn Sherbet | Popcorn | Salted Caramel Polenta Spread | Dry Corn | Angel Food Cake | Whipped Cream

Chocolate Pave | Chocolate Mousse | Marshmallow Sauce | Graham Cracker Crumble | Chocolate Ice Cream

Pears | Toasted Buckwheat Kernel | Red Wine Anise Jus

Flan | Vanilla Shortbread | Toasted Hazelnuts | Tart Cherry Sauce

Panna Cotta | Lemon Purée | Strawberry Glass | Berry Coulis

Frozen Lollipop | Rosemary

One thought on “Improvisational Cuisine

  1. Amazing! I’ve not heard of this concept but will definitely look for it in London. Did you go with Dad, because if you did, I uber impressed!!!! Keep writing…. x

    Like

Leave a comment